Odds and ends and memes
Oct. 8th, 2004 12:15 pmSo I haven't watched Stargate yet, but I plan to this weekend. The revision and project work have been a little overwhelming this week, but it looks like I'll be taking an enforced break this weekend. Five days before a big exam is the best time to catch a cold, I've found. Making this cold #6 for the year. I swear my immune system must be vacationing in Arruba for all the good it's done me this year. I'm at the shivery, icky, headachy, sneazy portion of the cold. I'm being a good girl and taking my asthma meds so (touch wood) there should be no hospital admissions this time, but when the nausea, congestion and earache kick in I probably won't be much use for a couple of days. Grrrr. Gotta hope that I'm back on my feet for Wednesday.
I'm still deep in my Lois McMaster Bujold obsession. She writes incredibly addictive books and writes them well.
alicambs posted a link to the LJ for
karentraviss, who has some fascinating posts including a couple that turned into a discussion about fanfic that you can find here and continued here. The interesting part for fanfic writers is the comment that very few pro authors make enough to do it full time - the boundary between writing for hobby and writing for a living is a much greyer area than many people like to believe.
I have ideas and I need to write, but I keep feeling guilty about the college stuff I wouldn't be doing if I did write. Of course, I then wander off and do non-college stuff anyway, so I'm not sure why I'm doing this. Coding up fanfic reviews takes hours, so I can completely justify putting that off until next month. Writing down a story bit that's niggling my brain won't take long and will make me feel better. So I should drag out the notepad and scribble rather than continuing to procrastinate.
( Memes behind the cut )
I'm still deep in my Lois McMaster Bujold obsession. She writes incredibly addictive books and writes them well.
I have ideas and I need to write, but I keep feeling guilty about the college stuff I wouldn't be doing if I did write. Of course, I then wander off and do non-college stuff anyway, so I'm not sure why I'm doing this. Coding up fanfic reviews takes hours, so I can completely justify putting that off until next month. Writing down a story bit that's niggling my brain won't take long and will make me feel better. So I should drag out the notepad and scribble rather than continuing to procrastinate.
( Memes behind the cut )