selenay: (Elizabeth angst)
I've been reading the commentary on yesterday's announcement that a third of people still think the woman is to blame for her rape if she dresses or behaves in certain ways. I couldn't comment yesterday because I was too angry, but everyone seems to have expressed what I want to say pretty well. The victim is never to blame and it's this kind of attitude that prevents women (and men) reporting what happened. Our juries are made up of our peers - what hope do victims stand if a third of their jury is already prejudiced against them?

Today's news report that got me saying "WTF?" is 32 dead in Honduras from Tropical Storm Gamma. We're at Gamma already? Isn't the season supposed to end at some stage? And what happens when we run out of Greek letters? Damn, seeing death tolls from storms and hurricanes at this stage doesn't seem right. Weather is screwed up.

In weather-related news, it's possible that it will snow around me on Friday. Huh. It hasn't snowed around here at this time of year since I was a kid. I'm starting to believe that this will be the worst winter in decades. I love snow, but I'm sensing a winter of insanity looming.

Today's work has been...huh. Midday reporting was crap. But managed to get the afternoon report ready early (although I waited until the usual time before sending...)

And hey, I've babbled enough to feel good about upping sticks (literally...) and going home. Yay!

Profile

selenay: (Default)
selenay

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 31   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 05:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios