selenay: (Guardian: powerful Shen Wei)
So, I may not actually rewatch all the way through because the final couple of episodes broke me, but I decided I was ready to revisit happier times and thus a rewatch of at least the first thirty-five episodes has begun.

Cut for spoilers for the whole series )

And now that I've given myself two plot bunnies in the space of one review, I'm going to wander off and find a cool place to hide from today's heat wave.
selenay: (Guardian: ship it 2)
Watch Over Me (I'm Yours) (3106 words) by [archiveofourown.org profile] Selenay
Chapters: 1/1
Fandom: 镇魂 | Guardian (TV)
Rating: General Audiences
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Relationships: Shěn Wēi/Zhào Yúnlán
Characters: Shěn Wēi, Zhào Yúnlán
Additional Tags: Episode Tag, Post-Episode 33, Sharing a Bed, First Kiss, Hurt/Comfort
Summary:

“I don’t sleep much,” Shen Wei said. “I’ll be fine if I can just rest a little.”


Zhao Yunlan snorted and shot him an incredulous look. “I don’t know what you usually tell yourself, but you definitely need a bed and at least two days of sleep.”

selenay: (coffee)
Less than two working days until my week off! Woo hoo!

I definitely need it. Today I barely restrained myself from writing a sarcastic response to a request for something that doesn't exist yet (apparently people think I'm psychic) so it's needed. I managed to write a polite response, but honestly. This person knows the thing doesn't exist yet, knows it's something there's no algorithm I can write to predict the thing, and therefore I don't know why he was asking for the thing.

I'm a wee bit grumpy right now.

First shift as an ops rover for virtual Worldcon went well, I think. We seem to be getting the hang of how to manage it and a lot of the early glitches are getting ironed out. Hopefully everyone is enjoying their con time. I spent a couple of hours being a stand-in for the Hugo ceremony rehearsal, so hopefully there will be no glitches with that!

Being staff on a convention is always an interesting experience. You end up seeing a lot of the bits of a convention that aren't working well, so it can be hard to tell whether the majority are having a good time. In terms of being staff on a convention where I can't get to any of the programming due to timezones and day job, it's doubly difficult. Normally I'd get to experience some of the con outside the staff role, but this time I'm not so all I'm seeing are the bits where something has gone wrong. OTOH, I am impressed that with all the moving parts and tech and people who don't know how to use the tech, we're not getting as many issues as I expected and everyone is working hard to get issues ironed out fast.

I suspect that a lot of conventions are going to be virtual or blended virtual/offline for a couple of years, so what we're learning at events like ConZealand and this year's [community profile] vidukon_cardiff are going to be the model for conventions for a while. It's a good thing for us to work at getting issues worked through and figuring out all the necessary tech so that we can keep events like this going through these weird times.

In other thoughts...

Guardian is a lovely, lovely fandom and everyone was right about there being some great fic. Apparently my time in superhero fandom prepared me well for a fandom where secret identities and fix-its would be major themes :D
selenay: (Guardian: worth it)
I have so many feels. SO MANY. And they are so complicated. This show really whammied me, I did not expect this.

Cut for spoilers )
selenay: (Guardian: worth it)
If you're wondering why we stopped at episode 38, I'm going to admit that mistakes were made last night.

The main mistake was [twitter.com profile] hockeybosh and I deciding at the end of episode 37 that we should watch the next one because things had ended in a concerning place and episode 38 couldn't make things worse.

Reader, it made things so much worse.

We have regrets. Mostly that it was midnight and we both had things to get up for today so we couldn't go straight to 39 and 40 because we're actual sensible adults these days. Argh.

Cut for spoilers )

We're doing episodes 39 and 40 tonight. I may need all the fluffy fics and fix-it fics after, okay?
selenay: (Guardian: shippy pull back)
So I've gone into this largely unspoiled, except for an understanding that the ending is sad and there is a lot of fix-it and everyone lives AU fanfic. Which means I'm basically expecting the worst every time I watch an episode now. But it also means that I don't know what's going to happen, so it's all exciting and new and amazing.

And honestly, I can deal with all the tragedy (I think) if every episode gives me at least one good Shen Wei and Zhao Yunlan moment (Weilan? Is this the ship portmanteau I'm looking for?). And the great thing is that it usually gives me plenty of them, not just one "squint if you look for it" moment, so I'm generally happy even while I'm also terribly sad and [twitter.com profile] hockeybosh and I are texting each other crying emojis.

(Usually the crying emojis are Guo-related. Why do they hurt our precious baby so?)

And so, we braced for impact and watched episode 36.

Cut for spoilers )
selenay: (Guardian: Kunlan)
I guess that three Dreamwidth posts in a week and a first draft of a completed fic means that I'm diving into this fandom? :D

It's very very compelling. And I keep having so many thoughts and feelings.

Spoilers for episode 35 )
selenay: (Guardian: bb!Shen Wei 2)
Gosh, I'd forgotten how much fun it is to get fannish about things :D

I now have 2300 words of post-episode 33 fic with probably another 1000 words to write. [twitter.com profile] hockeybosh, you know what you've done and I'm still blaming you.

I haven't written this much in ages. It's nice to have an idea flowing like this. It's probably terrible, but I'm having fun so *pokes tongue out*

We watched episode 34 last night. I've worked out that possibly my fic violates the canon timeline, but the timeline is a bit...uncertain at times, so I'm totally just adding an extra day in there before certain things happen because I want to and nobody can stop me.

Read more... )

I just have a lot of feelings, okay?
selenay: (Guardian: ship it 2)
So, [twitter.com profile] hockeybosh and I watched episode 33 of Guardian last night which caused a lot of squee and HB has a talent for screencapping perfection and sending it to me, so that was a good time.

We came here for the professor/detective ship (which is *excellent*) and did not expect the angry-puppet-master/innocent-adorable-newbie ship, but we're here for it. We're happy. Episode 33 was excellent.

The remaining seven episodes are going to punish us for the joy by being EVEN MORE HEARTBREAKING than the first few minutes of episode 33, I'm sure.

In the course of squees and screencaps, somehow I ended up with notes for a fic. I'm blaming hockeybosh for this 100%.

I really should upgrade my DW account to allow for more icons if I'm going to be getting actively fannish again. Yes, that would mean having some Guardian icons :D

(Note: Slight spoilers for episode 33 in the comments.)
selenay: (Default)
So, for a lot of this whole *gestures to the world* THING, I have been burying myself in rewatches and rereads of old friends because that's been all my brain can cope with. But I'm slowly starting to emerge and thus, a slightly fannish state of things is called for.

Currently reading The City of Brass, the first new-to-me book by a new-to-me author since...April? Maybe? And really enjoying it! What a fun book so far. It's going to break my heart, isn't it?

Speaking of things that will break my heart...

The Ancient Chinese Boyfriends vid show at VidUKOn finally got me watching Guardian. [twitter.com profile] hockeybosh has joined me on this descent into beauty, joy, and heartbreaking eventual pain (I don't know specifics about anything, but I've watched vids and I am aware of the tears of other friends who went there before me). We're having a ball. We're loving it. I'm itching to read the fic but I'm being (mostly) good because spoilers. I suspect hockeybosh is also going to hit up the fanfic? I'm definitely passing All The Vids onto her when we're done :D

And then I plan to watch The Untamed because I'm weak-willed in the face of great recruitment vids and ancient chinese boyfriends. hockeybosh has offered to rewatch with me for shared squee and pain which sounds like a great concept :D I have the first week in August booked off work (my first time off since the move in January!) to do approximately nothing. Assuming we've finished Guardian by then (seems likely), I might do a fair bit of Untamed binge that week :D

I'm also doing a group rewatch of Xena which is SO MUCH FUN everyone and yes, my fannish theme seems to be "this will end in pain" right now, but it's stuff that's a fun ride apart from the pain?

The other theme appears to be the subtext is practically text, because Guardian, Untamed, and Xena are all around the same levels of "lol nope obviously not gay (except totally gay)" subtext. Except Xena was over twenty years ago. Oh wow, I am such a fandom old *flops laughing*

Profile

selenay: (Default)
selenay

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 31   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios