selenay: (angels have the phone box)
[personal profile] selenay

This came out of a discussion with [personal profile] kimboo_york and [personal profile] tawg on Twitter last night. Feel free to jump in and correct me in comments if I leave things out or get things totally wrong.

We were discussing why people are or aren't migrating from LJ to DW and one of the reasons both KimBoo and I did the migration is the policy differences between the two platforms. Partially I got tired of all the times LJ has been going down due to DDOS attacks, I'll admit, but the policies were a big part of it. The feature changes don't actually bother me much because I'm used to platforms I use getting changed and upgraded as time goes by.

A lot of it, for me, dates back to the big purges and takedowns of a few years ago. Remember Strikethrough? I'm trying to remember dates and feeling terrified that it might be six years ago. DW hadn't launched at that point but it was in development and I think possibly it became more of a priority after that. Strikethrough was also one of several factors that pushed fans from talking about having a fic archive that we, as a community, owned to to forming the OTW and building the AO3.

LJ relies on advertisers for a lot of its revenue. Fair enough. However, it means that if they get a lot of complaints about something they're likely to take a purge first, ask questions later approach. That's what they did during the big purges, that's what they've continued to do, and a lot of fannish journals have been taken out as collateral damage due to that.

One of DW's major mission statements was that they wouldn't have advertising revenue so they'd be independent of that tie. They've committed to not deleting fannish journals and making the platform a safer place to locate our activities. It's the reason they use an uncommon payment processor: PayPal and then Google Checkout got targeted by groups who wanted DW to take journals down so DW found a payment processor who wouldn't give in to those tactics rather than doing a mass purge.

For me, that's one of the big reasons that my main journal archive is over on Dreamwidth. I mirror to LJ because around 50% of my friends are still over there and I don't want to lose contact with them, but I feel more secure knowing that the bulk of what I'm doing is on a platform that supports and encourages fans to do their thing.

Wow, that got long :-D


I've also been thinking about the way that fandom seems to migrate from platform to platform over time. When I first got online, I was in Buffy fandom and most of the activity was based on the Buffy posting board on the WB site. Email lists (that are now Yahoo groups) were the other major way to interact and were the big way to get fic and talk shipping.

Message boards and mailing lists were the main thing for several years and I'd been in Stargate for a year or two before LJ became the inevitable Next Big Thing. LJ stayed the main location for fandom for a long time but started to splinter a few years ago after a lot of the big LJ dramas.

I've noticed over the eighteen months that most of my fandom interaction is migrating to a combination of Tumblr, Twitter and AO3. I use my LJ/DW when I've got something to talk about (like today) that really doesn't suit Tumblr or Twitter's formats (in depth discussions are still much easier in comments on LJ/DW) and when I need to vent or chat about RL stuff.

Tumblr is my happy place where I try not to let the crappier side of RL intrude. Good and happy things, like big comic hauls, totally go on Tumblr. My adventures with IBD stay over here.

And Twitter is where most of my actual fannish interaction seems to be happening now.

I'm sure that in five years there will be another gradual migration to another platform or combination of platforms. I really do hope there isn't a migration away from AO3 because it's genuinely awesome for fic. But it doesn't worry me much that we're migrating from LJ to Tumblr or Twitter and onwards as long as I can keep in contact with everyone during the transition phases. Fandom and fandom interaction has been evolving and shifting ever since people realised they could exchange letters about fannish stuff and it will continue to do so.

I've just learned to go with the flow and move along with it because it's the involvement that matters to me, not the platform we use for it.

Date: 2013-03-30 04:19 pm (UTC)
kimboo_york: my dog keely (Dreamwidth)
From: [personal profile] kimboo_york
Yes to all of this. I was going to post something similar but you said it all pretty exactly as how I would have. ♥

Strikethrough WAS in 2007, as hard as that is to believe (http://fanlore.org/wiki/Strikethrough); there was also Boldthrough a few months later. Then the 2011 change to comments so that they cannot have subject lines seemed targeted to fan comms such as RP and kink memes. LJ hasn't made much secret of wanting fandom to go away; personally I just heeded the call. ;)

Tawg noted that dw and LJ platforms are pretty much the same, and that's true because dw was designed that way. That's not a bug, that's a feature, as they say; the point is that if LJ is being problematic and hostile, dw is a safe place to move to. While some folk never have any issues using LJ and/or like the changes they've instituted, it seems crazy to me that those who do have complaints still refuse to move. *perplexed shrug*

But, in the end, AO3 has and continues to decimate the fic-posting community on both platforms -- I don't even post fic here anymore, except as links to the stories at AO3. So what's left for fandom at dw/LJ is RPers, kink-memes, and meta. And personal blogs, and really, even for that I'd rather give my $$ to a supportive business like dw. I *do* miss the comms, not for stories so much but commentary and meta and community. But there you go, as we discussed ON TWITTER HAHAHAAAA: fandom floats.

Date: 2013-03-30 05:38 pm (UTC)
paranoidangel: PA (Default)
From: [personal profile] paranoidangel
I miss forums, they're so much easier to use than anything else.

But Twitter, Tumblr and A03 seem to be particularly unsuited to fannish interaction to me. A03 is just for posting fic, to which someone might comment if you're lucky, or leave kudos, which means you can't have any conversation with that person (especially if they're a guest). Tumblr is for posting photos, and as a non-visual person, is useless to me (well, except for cute bunny pictures but there are websites for that already). And Twitter really only works in relatively real-time - if all the conversation is at night, then there's not a great deal of point me chiming in on it the next morning. Plus I have enough to keep up with comedians and a few people I know - any more than that and I wouldn't have time to read and TweetDeck wouldn't show me any more (it'll only do 200 new posts at a time).

Date: 2013-04-02 08:36 pm (UTC)
paranoidangel: PA (Default)
From: [personal profile] paranoidangel
I think we will agree to disagree on platforms. But in what way do you mean forums are closed? I would have said they're more open than LJ.

I do find A03 good for fic in obscure fandoms - in at least that's one of the places I look. Although the obscure fandoms I've looked in have been old, so there's been less there than in other places. But if, for example, I'm looking for Doctor Who fic I go to Teaspoon and if I get desperate and go to A03 then I just find the same fic as on Teaspoon, just less of it.

And I like the kudos too. But I find their interface hard to use and I just hate the name because it's not my archive, I have one of my own on my website.

But the best way of getting comments on fic and discussions for me have been on LJ. The most comments I've had on anything have been on sarahjane_fic when it was active and lotr_community is amazing for comments. I think I might have made it into double figures, or nearly. Although it helps to be writing popular stuff - I have a tendency to write things that only two other people in the world would appreciate.

But anything I've posted on A03 outside of Yuletide or Remix has got at most a couple of kudos and no comments. It's so much less effort and gets more readers to post fic elsewhere.

Date: 2013-04-03 07:04 am (UTC)
paranoidangel: PA (Default)
From: [personal profile] paranoidangel
I've had completely the opposite experience with forums. They'll be subforums for eg the TV programme then subforums within it, but there'll always be at least one subforum for off topic chat on any subject.

Date: 2013-04-02 05:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tawg.livejournal.com
You are so lucky that you didn't mention the strikethrough on twitter - I wrote a paper on it at University (Media and Sexuality, awesome subject). The strikethrough of '07 had nothing to do with advertising, and everything to do with an online vigilante group called Warriors for Innocence who track down and report peadophilic content online (and they seem pretty shady but whatevs) contacting LJ about there being blogs that were devoted to recounting sexual crimes committed against children on their serves (which there were - and there has been some debate about whether they were fantasy blogs or true accounts, but none of the blogs flagged by WfI were fandom related). LJ claimed that they were not responsible for moderating content (which is in their TOS) and therefore were not legally accountable for any undesirable or offensive journals. WfI responded that since the materials were hosted on LJs servers, LJ was hosting child pornography and WfI would be taking the issue to the FBI.

It was LJ's response that hurt the fandom, but I think the more tragic outcome was that communities for survivors of abuse were also shut down as LJ froze anything that looked even remotely dodgy. Ony a few blogs were shut down for good, though a number were inconvenienced as LJ sorted through everything that had been flagged and responded to the fallout. It actually led to some interesting discussion about how to interpret the ages in fanart, for example. It also led to some less productive discussions like "Does this mean that if I write a fic about a murder LJ will report me to the police as a murderer". The response was fast and dumb and problematic, yes. But it was also a company trying to avoid getting dragged into a child pornography investigation, and I honestly wonder how DW would handle a similar situation.

How's that for an internet history lesson? ;)

Profile

selenay: (Default)
selenay

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 31   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios